11 days at Atlantic and absolutely no contact

How to plan and endure longer absences

Full focus on the regatta across the Atlantic also means saying goodbye to all other everyday obligations, activities and routines. The transition must be well planned, because no one wants to take nagging thoughts, open work orders or pending conversations across the ocean. So how do you successfully disconnect from life on land?

Determination of a defined period

Signing off for a few weeks means a big change for yourself, but above all for those who stay on land and still have to go about their daily routine.

Determining the period from when you will no longer be available and when you will be available again makes planning and communicating of the time-out easier. This is the first step towards the necessary clarity.

Information of all foreseeable contacts

We are all familiar with studies and insights into how often information has to be conveyed to us humans so that we can remember it. And the rule is: once is never.

It is therefore advisable to include the planned absence in standard communication well in advance. At the end of conference calls, in emails, on the website and on the phone. One cannot “over-communicate” this message.

Delegate important tasks

Some things cannot be postponed. Certain things just go on and need attention. The availability, but also the qualification and authorization of a representative covers this point. It may take time to find a suitable person or position. So long-term planning pays off.

Farewell and out of office reminder

An alarm system is useless if you don't arm it as soon as you leave the house. It is the same here. On day "X" you have to say goodbye and then really be offline. Doing things quickly and still being available creates confusion and frustration. Now it's time for "over and out".

 

Reflection

Why did I jot down these thoughts during my crossing? – Because I have seen how difficult it was for some people to separate. But also because in some cases it didn't work at all. And all of this was for good reasons. Responsibility towards family, friends of one's own company are important and should always be carefully considered. This article is intended to help you plan as far as you can.

Share

11 Tage Atlantik und absolut kein Kontakt

Wie man längere Abwesenheiten plant und auch durchhält

Voller Fokus auf die Regatta über den Atlantik heißt auch Verabschiedung von allen anderen alltäglichen Verpflichtungen, Aktivitäten, Routinen. Die Umstellung muss gut geplant sein, denn niemand will quälende Gedanken, offene Arbeitsaufträge oder anstehende Gespräche mit über den Ozean nehmen. Wie koppelt man sich also erfolgreich vom Leben an Land ab?

Festlegung eines Zeitraums

Sich für einige Wochen abzumelden bedeutet eine große Umstellung für einen selbst, aber vor alle auch für jene, die an Land bleiben und weiterhin tägliche Routine zu verrichten haben.

Die Festsetzung des Zeitraumes ab wann man nicht mehr erreichbar sein wird und wann man wieder zur Verfügung steht erleichtert die Planung und Kommunikation der Auszeit. Dies ist der erste Schritt zur notwendigen Klarheit.

Information aller vorhersehbaren Kontakte

Wir alle kennen Studien und Erkenntnisse darüber wie oft Information an uns Menschen herangetragen werden muss, damit wir sie uns auch merken. Und es gilt: einmal ist keinmal.

Daher ist es zu raten bereits lange Zeit im Voraus die geplante Abwesenheit in Standardkommunikation einfließen zu lassen. Am Ende von Telefonkonferenzen, in Emails, auf der Homepage und am Telefon. Man kann diese Botschaft nicht “überkommunizieren”.

Delegieren wichtiger Aufgaben

Manches läßt sich nicht aufschieben. Gewisse Dinge gehen eben weiter und benötigen Aufmerksamkeit. Die Verfügbarkeit, aber auch die Qualifizierung und Ermächtigung einer Vertretung deckt diesen Punkt ab. Es benötigt eventuell Zeit, um eine geeignete Person oder Stelle zu finen. Langfristige Planung zahlt sich also aus.

Verabschiedung und Erinnerung

Eine Alarmanlage bringt nichts, wenn man sie nicht scharf stellt, sobald man das Haus verläßt. So verhält es sich hier auch. Am Tag “X” muss man sich verabschieden und dann auch wirklich off-line sein. Jetzt noch schnell Dinge zu erledigen und doch noch erreichbar zu sein schafft Verwirrung und Frustration. Jetzt ist Zeit für “over and out”.

 

Reflexion

Warum habe ich mir diese Gedanken während meiner Überfahrt notiert? – Weil ich gesehen habe, wie sich manche schwer getan haben sich zu trennen. Aber auch, weil es in manchen Fällen dann gar nicht gelang. Und dies hatte alles gute Gründe. Verantwortung gegenüber Familie, Freunden der eigenen Firma sind wichtig und sollen immer gut abgewogen werden. Dieser Artikel soll aber helfen soweit zu planen, wie man eben planen kann.

Beitrag teilen: