RORC Transatlantic Sailboat Race on a VOR65

Warum ich mit einer Rennyacht an einer Regatta quer über den Atlantik teilnehme?

"Volvo Ocean Race 65 (= VOR65)" describes a one class design of race boats. Manufactured centrally and with strict uniformity, they have been racing the Ocean racesince 2017. This competition is the toughest team regatta worldwide. The crews sail around the globe in approximately 10 legs and 45,000 nautical miles.

In the next race in 2022/23, a team with an Austrian core crew would like to start for the first time. They have christened their boat “Sisi” and are practicing hard at international, renowned regattas. Including the transatlantic race of the "Royal Ocean Racing Club (=RORC)

What does all this have to do with me? - I am part of the crew at RORC's 2022 transatlantic race. And in my newsroom I briefly share what inspires me about this plan and what I am expecting:

 

Inside a VOR 65 racing yacht:

Some links for those who want to follow my adventure:

Pictures from the last Ocean Race - Leg 4.

Vestas was acquired by the Austrian Ocean Racing Project and she takes part in other races renamed as "Sisi". Here she leads the field at the start of the fourth leg of the Volvo Ocean Race 2017/18 departing from Melbourne.

Share

RORC Transatlantik Rennen auf einer VOR65

Warum ich mit einer Rennyacht an einer Regatta quer über den Atlantik teilnehme?

Unter “Volvo Ocean Race 65 (=VOR65)” werden Segelboote einer Klasse zusammengefasst. Zentral und streng einheitlich gefertigt bestreiten sie seit 2014 unter anderem das Ocean Race, die wohl härteste Teamregatta der Welt. Dabei segeln die Crews in rund 10 Etappen und 45.000 Seemeilen um den gesamten Globus.

Beim nächsten Rennen 2022/23 möchte erstmals eine Mannschaft mit Österreichischem Kernteam an den Start gehen. Sie haben Ihr Boot “Sisi” getauft und üben fleißig bei internationalen, renomierten Regatten. So auch dem Transatlantik-Rennen des “Royal Ocean Racing Club (=RORC)

Was das alles mit mir zu tun hat? – Ich bin Teil der Crew beim Transatlantik Rennen 2022 des RORC. Und in meinem Newsroom halte ich kurz fest, was mich an diesem Plan so begeistert und was ich mir erwarte:

 

Im Inneren einer VOR65:

Wer dem Abenteuer ein bisschen folgen möchte, der findet hier ein paar Links:

Bilder vom letzten Ocean Race – Leg 4.

Vestas wurde vom Austrian Ocean Racing Project erworben und sie nimmt als Sisi an weiteren Rennen teil. Hier führt sie das Feld beim Start der vierten Wettfahrt des Volvo Ocean Race 2017/18 von Melbourne weg an.

Beitrag teilen: